Approaching the last days of Ramadan, it is likely to get confused by the true meaning of the blessed month, according to tradition. So let’s clear it up.




It is the month of abstention and purification, during which besides fasting from food, (food, drinks and water included), Muslims refrain from sexual activities – except for married couples – and focus on the spiritual aspects of life from sunrise to sunset.

During Ramadan, Muslims request forgiveness for sins in the past, pray for direction and assistance in abstaining from everyday troubles, and endeavor to clean themselves through self-control and great acts of faith.


Prayer activities with the entire reading of the Koran, special prayer in the mosque (Tarawih) the spiritual retreat in the mosque (I’tikaf), meditation and charity.

The word Ramaḍān, originally in Arabic, means “hot month” or “torrid month” or “to be heated” from which it can be deduced that in ancient times was once a summer month. Surely, the month of Ramadan, as indeed most other months of the Islamic calendar has an origin pre – Islamic and was essentially linked to the activities of the community.

Ramadan comes from the Arabic word meaning “ardent” and the so hot land is called by the Arabs “Ramdhaa”.

Individuals say it is named Ramadan because it burns out the sins with good deeds, as the sun scorches the ground.



Ramadan: Lunar months


Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar which consists of 12 lunar months (29 or 30 days each) for a total of 354 or 355 days, as opposed to 365 or 366 days (if leap year) Gregorian year, based on the cycle solar. Like all the other months of the Islamic calendar it is traditionally determined by the sighting of the new moon of growth.

Ramadan: prayers and meals

Fasting, Sawn in Arabic, redirects the heart away from worldly activities, its purpose is to clean the soul by freeing it from harmful impurities. Indeed, fasting is one of the Five Pillars of the Islam religion.

But before dawn and after sunset Muslims gather together to consume traditional meals.

Suhur and Iftar are the two principal meals. At dawn and at sunset.

According to the tradition, Muslims pray 5 times a day:

  • Salatul Fajr (dawn prayer)
  • Salatul Dhuhr (noon prayer)
  • Salatul Asr (afternoon prayer)
  • Salatul Maghrib (after sunset prayer)
  • Salatul Isha (night prayer)

Moreover, during the last 10 days before dawn one last player “Laylatul qadr” can be act.
Nothing is imposed or mandatory in fact in addition to these 5 prayers the Muslim can choose to practice, during the last ten days, another prayer called Salatul Tarwiha as an ending prayer at night.